As important as planning and executing your goals, ensuring your team has a way of closing out and reflecting on their OKRs helps to make sure everyone is up-to-date and in sync when it comes to whether they've met their objectives or not.

Closing and archiving goals is an important part of finishing a goals cycle as you enter a new planning process. Additionally, you might close out a goal mid-cycle. Goals that were entered in-correctly can also be permanently deleted.

Closing and Scoring OKRs

After you reach the due date of your goal cycle, you will want to close-out and score your OKRs. Closing a goal enables you to score the goal, communicates that the goal is no longer active, and stops prompting leads and contributors to update the goal.

To close out the entirety of an OKR, you must close both the objective and its associated key results separately. To close out either an objective or key result, click the three dot menu next to the goal you want to close and click Close out.

From there, you'll bring up the goal scorecard. You'll be able to score your goal based on your ending metric. We use the standard 0.0 to 1.0 rating, where a "0.7" score represents hitting your expected target, and scores greater than 0.7 represent over-achievement. We also suggest that you record insights in your Final Summary; these insights prompt you and your team to reflect on the goal and provide you with more context when looking back at the goal.

Best practices for closing your OKRs

While just archiving the OKR is a simple way to start over, closing out your OKRs can be a milestone moment, and we believe in making it an event for your team. Having an end of the quarter meeting where each team member reflects on their OKRs, their successes, and the lessons they're learning is a great way of celebrating your team and giving them a chance to come together in the purpose of their work.

One way that we've seen successful customers achieve this is by having every team member go KR by KR, closing and scoring them individually in a team meeting before archiving the objective. Doing this as a group is important to give yourselves time to talk through what went well, what didn't go well, and what can go better next time.

This ceremonial action works as a visual way of working through your teams goals from top to bottom. When the key results have all been discussed and closed, archive the objective or reopen the key results and edit the OKR for the next quarter.

Best practices for scoring Key Results

Koan uses a 0.0 to 1.0 scale for scoring Key Results, with 1.0 meaning that the Key Result was fully completed. This is typically based on the final result for the metric on the KR, so if you were trying to get 100% of customers onboarded to a new feature, but only got 70% of them onboarded, you would score that Key Result a 0.7.

That doesn't necessarily mean that's the only way to score your KRs. You'll see additional text on the scores with a general meaning of how we at Koan see the scores (0.5 meaning significant progress was made, 0.7 meaning results were achieved, 1.0 meaning your team knocked it out of the park). We believe that KRs should be set just further than you think your team can hit, so anything over a 0.7 should be viewed as successful.

That said, as a team you should decide what the scale means for you. Are you measuring the progress you put into the KR, or the metric? Do you have committed goals where you can either hit them or miss them? If so, only use 0.0 and 1.0. Have those conversations as you set your goals to make sure everyone is on the same page with the expectations for the team.

Viewing closed goals

When you close the goal, you will still see the goal in the list, but it will be shown as closed to reflect its true status. Closed goals are still visible on team's Goals pages. To hide them from default views, you will want to archive them. You can learn how to archive goals later in this article.

Archiving Goals

Closed OKRs will stay visible to your team, but they will have the "Closed" tag and final score visible and members will no longer be prompted to update them in their Reflections. If you'd prefer to completely remove closed OKRs from view, you can archive them. To archive the OKR, click on the three dots menu at the top right.

From that menu, you can archive the objective and all of its downstream key results by selecting Archive Objective. This removes the OKR from your active goals and lets your team start with a clean slate for the next quarter.

Viewing archived goals

Archiving objectives, as opposed to deleting them, allows your team to revisit them later and to see all of the progress they've made over time. After you've chosen to archive a goal, it will disappear from the active goals list. You can view all of your team's archived OKRs from the drop down in the menu bar by selecting Archived Goals.

Whenever you go to archive an objective, we will notify you of the associated key results that will also be archived and we will warn you of the other teams that will be impacted by the archival.

Restoring an archived goal

The beauty of archiving goals, is that this action can be undone if need be. Archived goals can be restored to the goal list at any time using the actions menu. To restore an archived goal, you will select the three-dot icon, and then select Restore objective/key result.

If you restore a goal, we will notify you of the associated key results that will be restored and warn you of the other teams that will be impacted by the restoration. When you restore the goal, we will also re-link its previous parent goals.

Deleting Goals

WARNING! Deleting an objective or key result in Koan is permanent. A deleted goal can not be restored later, so proceed with caution.

We suggest that you only choose to delete goals in circumstances where a goal was created by mistake. To permanently delete a goal, select the three-dot icon and then click Delete objective/key result.

When deleting goals, we also will warn you of all the associated key results that will be deleted and of other teams that will be impacted by your decision to delete a goal. Note that you can never restore a goal after it has been deleted.

Did this answer your question?